Should I be afraid that I might get what I wish for?  Have you heard the Chinese proverb that says “May you live in interesting times.”  Did you know this is a curse?  Oh, my mind works in twisted ways and goes down dark paths.  I like to think this keeps me from making mistakes, but those who are unfortunate enough to have to listen to me, think of it as a sinkhole of unpleasantness, sorry.

However my point that I am trying to get to is we would all be better off if we simplified and just lived with less “stuff”.  Many years ago this came up in my thoughts during a bad winter back east, where many people died on the highways during winter snow and ice storms; power went out for long periods of time and there was real suffering if not death even for people who stayed home.

But at the same time there was an article about the Amish living in the same area; they were just fine.  The Amish did not have to leave home and travel on icy roads to work, they worked where they could walk from home.  They had food and firewood prepared for the winter.  No need to get to the grocery store.

I’m not suggesting that we should live just like the Amish, but I have always remembered that contrast and wondered, “What is wrong with this picture?”  We are supposed to be in control of our environment, we are supposed to be so advanced.  But one winter storm and people die just trying to keep warm, or trying to get to work or going out to buy groceries.  There has to be another way.

I think I know what that other way is, but I also know that not everyone can afford to stock up on groceries or miss a few days’ of work, thanks to the economy we have been pushed into.

Think about it.  What do you do to be prepared for things like the Icelandic volcano that has stopped all air travel in Europe, or a winter snow storm here, or a power outage?  Let me know, I am curious.

