Ok, when I named this blog Hamsterdreams, it was a play on words; I live in Bellingham, and residents of this town are sometimes affectionately known as “hamsters”, you know, like bellinghamsters, but that is too cumbersome, so we shortened it to ‘hamsters.  You know, like my previous hometown Seattle residents are known as Seattleites, but Bellinghamites doesn’t sound so good.  Like bugs or something, creepy.

So when I settled on hamsterdreams; I dream a lot when I am awake, you know, like running stories in my head.  So tacking dreams onto hamster sounded cool.  Well then I got curious and searched around the internet to see what was being said about hamsters and dreams.  I found lots of weird stuff like people who dream about hamsters:

To see a hamster in your dream represents underdeveloped emotions. You are distancing yourself from others so that you won’t end up getting hurt. It may also indicate that issues of sexuality are trivial to you. You are able to separate sex and love.  http://www.dreammoods.com/dreamdictionary/h.htm\

Now I have never dreamed about hamsters that I know of (I am one of those people who rarely remember dreams when I wake up), but I did have a cool dream about robots once.  I couldn’t find anything on the internet about what that means.  The dream setting was a desert, totally sand everywhere and rolling hills of sand as far as I could see. 

I was walking along a river that was completely straight like it was made with a big giant ruler, like a canal, but it wasn’t.  You know how you ‘know’ things in dreams.  Anyway, I was walking along this river, and a robot came over a sand hill like he was going to kill me.  He sort of looked like C3peo in Star Wars, except he was not nice, and he was a dark metallic color, befitting his dark intentions.  So I fought with him and ‘killed’ him.  Then another came at me, and I captured it, and reprogrammed him to fight for me.  The end.

Ok, that’s as exciting as my night time dreams get.  The hamster dream explanation is more fun.  Talking about sexuality and love. . . . hmmm.

So, if you are confused about what my point is in this blog, maybe this quote from someone more clever and intelligent than me will help: 

“The ships hung in the sky in much the same way that bricks don’t.”  – Douglas Adams 

Did that help?  No?  Well how about this one:

“It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.”  Also, Doug Adams. 

Smart guy.  Just let your mind flow, drugs are not necessary for some of us . . . .

