Wickipedia has compiled a list of the number of oil spills that are going on continuously.  I don’t mean each spill is continuous, but there are spills all the time.  No wonder I keep hearing reports of sea lions, dolphins and whales washing up dead on beaches.  They probably swam through some of this stuff.

Riki Ott, among others, says there are chemicals in the oil that are toxic even in very small concentrations to any living thing and especially to anything that breathes air and yes, marine animals get air from the water. The Wikipedia article is located at: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_oil_spills.

I’m still working on my linking skills, so if the link doesn’t work, go to Wikipedia and look up “List of Oil Spills”.  I have heard this list quoted by many podcasters and other sources, so I think it is pretty reliable.  I had no idea there were so many of these spills going on.  We are killing ourselves along with the oceans.  The planet cannot take much more of this.  Talk about tipping points, does anyone talk about the point at which the earth can no longer cleanse itself of our poisons?

The following link takes you (again, I hope I did this linking thing right) to an Alternet article by Scott Thill on oil-induced enviromental catastrophes the article is titled: “Brace Yourself: This Is the Tip of the Iceberg for Oil-Induced Enviro Catastrophes”.

http://www.alternet.org/environment/146879/brace_yourself%3A_this_is_the_tip_of_the_iceberg_for_oil-induced_enviro_catastrophes/

Well, I don’t mean to be a downer, but what can I say?  Things are what they are.  Myself, I vacillate between rage and escapism.  I don’t do drugs, so when things get to be too much, I go read an old Erle Stanley Gardner, Perry Mason mystery.  They are out of print so if this form of escapism appeals to you, I find the only source for these books are on Amazon.com’s used books.

Of course, the gym, hiking and long distance bicycling are great to.  Being outdoors and feeling the wind and sun (or rain) on my face is a great healer for me.  I feel great sadness though for the earth and all the beautiful living creatures on it.  I do not have the answers, although being a pessimist (realist?), I do not give up, I just fight harder to find solutions.  Is that a paradox?

