Oooooohhh, I just remembered that yesterday when I was driving from Bellingham to Lynnwood to pick up this kitten, I heard some really irritating things about the unemployed.  I always prefer to listen to talk radio when driving, it helps keep me awake and sometimes I actually learn something.  Of course you have to be good at reading between the lines and figuring out where the speaker is coming from to get anything useful this way.  I learned the fine art of reading between the lines as a kid watching tv commercials.  I never understood how  commercials get people to buy things, as they never give any useful information, like how much is this gonna cost me, what are the side effects (of alcohol and prescription drugs), etc.

Ooff, I’m off the track again.  Ok, so I was listing to this fairly liberal talk show guy from Seattle, and callers were talking pro and con about what seemed to be the morality of being on unemployment insurance, and whether people preferred to take the checks to working.

Now, it is difficult for me to talk on this subject without every other word being “f-this” or “f-that”, if you know what I mean.  I’ll try to keep it clean.  My dad always used to say that swearing was a substitute for intelligence.  I don’t fully buy into that argument, but there is some merit to it.

I went through something like the current demonizing of the unemployed (“If they really wanted to work, they would just go out and get a job, any job.”) when I went on WELFARE in the late 80’s.  If I could dig up and beat the crap out of Ronald Reagan, I would.  I worked my ass off all of the years I was on welfare, the correct name for my category was AFDC, food stamps and section 8.  I started out married, then my husband got a girlfriend and there was a lot of other abusive crap going on, so I left him. We had been married for 13 years.

At that point I had a high school education, a 3 year old, a 2 month old baby that had a chronic illness, no car, and no job.  So I decided that I needed more education to get a job that would support 3 people.  I put myself through engineering school, studying day and night, 7 days a week for 7 years to get a BSME (Bachelors of Science in Mechanical Engineering).  I bet that asshole Reagan couldn’t do that.

All during that time guess what the talk shows were blabbing on and on about?  The non-existant “welfare queens driving around in their Cadillacs and sitting on their asses watching tv all day.”  So, I focused on what I had to, raising my kids and getting through the next quarter of school.

NOW, the idiots of the airwaves (the non-progressive ones, which seems to be about 90%) are making the very same arguments about the poor unemployed persons.  It is all 100% pure bullshit.  Enjoy the ride to the bottom of the economic ladder assholes.

I don’t really know what to say about this, it is so evident that no one would take a check that doesn’t pay enough to cover rent, let alone medical insurance (thanks a lot senators, who needs universal health care anyway?), food, $3.00/gallon gas, etc. There are plenty of people out there who are way smarter than me (well, I’m too humble I know, maybe just a little bit smarter than me) who have all the facts at their fingertips.

I was working as an engineer, and at the end there, I was getting $28.00/hour; it took me a year to get another job, and now I am making $12.00/hour.  On unemployment, it work out to $15.00/hour if I didn’t pay the taxes, which I didn’t, as I thought I would get a job before a year was up, and I was barely getting by on that 15 bucks/hour.  I thought I could cough up the taxes when I got a job, ha, ha.  That didn’t work out so well.  In my case, my family was able to step in and help me out, so I am doing ok.  But what about all the people who don’t have families that can help them out?  Where is the compassion?  Where is the awareness that “There but for the grace of God go I?”

Your pissed off hamster, again.

