You really should check out this guy; very intelligent with an objective view of our nation and our attitudes.   http://www.joebageant.com/joe/2010/06/live-from-planet-norte.html#more

When I was growing up in the 50’s and 60’s I was constantly being told, and I believed it, that we Americans had a free press and so could know what was going on in the world and understand.  I was tossed out of the mainstream when I found myself divorced with two kids, no job, etc, etc, you know the drill. 

I began to see the world around me in through different eyes.  I was sad at what I saw, and time has only made me far sadder (is that a word?).  The Gulf oil disaster is the death of many species of animals that depend on salt water or that migrate through there.  If the people do not leave the region, it will probably be the death of them as well through cancers, lung problems and other health issues.

I am sad beyond understanding.  But I have felt this way before, for reasons I will not say.  This time there is no hope for that area and that is a tragedy.  We go on, pretending it will somehow “get better”.  We try to clean it up, yet it is not through pouring oil there; we say “it will be decades before it begins to recover”.  Decades?  I am no scientist but I can reason and draw conclusions.  It will be hundreds, if not thousands of years. 

Go to Bageants blog and check him out; read some of his books. He is a very observant and thoughtful person.

I just try to keep surviving and make the best decisions I can. 

Your humble hamster.

