Just thought I’d let you know; the queen cat and the still un-named kitty are getting along well.  I even let the little squirt roam the house today while I’m at work.  Cleo is treating the fuzzball in a much more friendly way now, and they even play together.  Also, kitty has learned to keep her distance when Queenie hisses at her, an important survival skill.

Last night I let the squirt sleep on my bed, which I’m not sure is so great for me.  She likes to climb up to my neck and snuggle there.  That of course causes her whiskers to tickle me and wakes me up.  Then there is my necklace, which normally I have always just worn all the time and rarely ever take off.  Guess what?  Squirt likes to chew on it, and I don’t seem to be able to persuade her that is a bad idea. 

So, I had to take the necklace off, which means I have to put it on when I get up.  I try to reduce the number of things I have to do in the morning, as I inevitably forget to do some of them.  Plus, I have timed myself, and from the time I say, “I have to go now” it takes me 15 minutes to actually find myself in the car and backing out the driveway.  I don’t want to add more tasks in the morning . . .

Anyway, I didn’t get to sleep as well as I might have, which is usually very marginal anyway.  I have insomnia, the severity of which varies from time to time.

Well that’s it for now.  Later I may get to ranting about climate change.  I heard some more scary ‘end of the world’ type stuff on Democracy Now this morning, and they are a very credible news source.  I believe I have found my peace with whatever comes, but I feel incredibly sad about what the human race has come to and what we are doing to the earth.  These days I often feel as though I am living in one of those sci-fi novels I read as a kid.  The future does not look good.

Remember these important words: “In those days spirits were brave, the stakes were high, men were real men, women were real women and small furry creatures from Alpha Centauri were real small furry creatures from Alpha Centauri.” Douglas Adams

Your hamster survivor

