Ok, this is going to take awhile, I can tell already. When I moved into this house 6 years ago, I knew the deck was toast, but I hoped it would last longer.  It is really rotten.  A couple of years ago when I told my son this, he said, the ultimate contrarian,  “No way!” and proceeded to stomp with all his strength on one board.  Guess what?  His foot went right through the deck as the board split in two.

Well, I am sick of power washing the thing and re-staining it already.  I can’t imagine doing it for 10 or 20 years.  So I will be replacing the decking material with one of the composites that doesn’t require yearly maintenance, and of course, replacing all the joists, beams and railings.

Last week I had some friends over who know quite a bit about how to tear down and re-do a deck and got some much appreciated advice.  I am now armed and dangerous with a pry bar (about 18″ long), a crow bar (about 30″) and a gigantic pry bar that I can hardly lift that I think is about 5 feet long.  I may be exaggerating, but it is very long and weighs a ton I’m pretty sure.

I’m supposed to get help from friends, but I won’t hold my breath. I’m not sure I would show up to tear out someone else’s deck!  I took out a few boards on the weekend just for fun and to see how difficult it is.  Some of the boards are very easy to pull off and some are very hard.  It depends on whether the joists they are attached to are rotten or not.  Of course the rotten ones give up the boards and screws easily and the others are an exercise and a half.  I figured the longer the pry bar the “easier” it would be, if I can use that word.

This deck is about 50 feet long by 15 feet wide.  Bigger than crap and on one side it is about 5 1/2 feet above grade and sits on the bank on the other side.

Your hardworking hamster 🙂

