July 19 Progress

July 19 Progress

Shows the railing removed next to sliding doors.

July Progress showing east side of deck

I took my first load of old mostly rotten decking to the dump yesterday.  I feel a real sense of accomplishment!  The bank under the removed decking looks great for creating my new pathway to the upper backyard area.  I’m going to have so much fun with this. 

It took a lot of courage to go ahead with this project, and I might not have even tried it if I was still working as an engineer and could afford to hire someone to do it for me.  I guess some good comes from being “downsized”.  May they all burn in hell.  Oh, sorry, I forgot myself there.  The anger burns very shallow these days.  However, I am proud of my accomplishments, and this will be great when it is all done!

There is one thing in particular that I have learned from my life; if you can’t do things the way most people do them (meaning the way ‘everyone’ says you have to do it, whatever ‘it’ may be), then there is always another way.  Find it and go ahead and do it.  Don’t give up and don’t let the bastards win.  Remember, the majority are usually wrong.

Proud hamster

