Sooo . . . . yesterday, Monday, I did another run to the local dump/ recycle station here.  My truck was full of boards and railings from my deck.  It cost $11.75 to toss it all in the big wood pile there.  It sure felt good to get rid of that stuff.

It’s a lot of work, the sweat was literally running off me last evening while I was pulling more boards off the deck.  In spite of the fact that right now my deck consists mostly of joists and beams covered with spiderwebs, old spider egg nests and lots of fir needles stuck in the webs and piled up on the rotted joists, the old deck is looking better!  I am really feeling good about cleaning up this old thing. 

Demo facing west

Demo facing west

Hauling the crappy old wood to the dump feels great.  I love to clean up, maybe I’m have some of that OCD for cleaning. 

Right now I have just a 4 board-width path from one end of my deck to the stairs, so I can get to the stairs to carry the pulled up boards down to ground level. 
I put a lot of thought into deciding in what order I should remove this decking. Should I start at the house and work my way over to the bank where the deck is sitting on the rocks? In retrospect that might have been a better way to go, but this will work out ok. 
I have quite a few boards I borrowed just to provide walking surface for me and for safety. Right now I’m removing boards over the portion of the deck that is closer to the house, so the ground is about 5 1/2 feet down between the joists. The area near the bank is already done, with the exception of the walkway from the dining room to the bank.  That will be the last pulled off and the first to be re-built. 
Remember, “That which doesn’t kill you, postpones the inevitable.” http://www.despair.com/viewall.html
The deck demo hamster, postponing the inevitable
