Hey.  So, on Saturday I left the house around 8:00 to go pick up my 86 year old mom.  She lives at a retirement home not too far from me and since she is getting unstable for walking and can’t see very much, she enjoys getting out once a week at my place.  I take her out for lunch and to the park. 

Ok, so about 11:00 we came back to the house.  We go upstairs, unload our stuff, and I sack out on the couch for a few minutes.  Then someone pounds on my door, so I go down to see whats up. 

My neighbor is standing there and he says that right after I left, they could hear water gushing out from somewhere and running into the storm drain in the street.  So they looked around, and here it was pouring up from the ground between my driveway and my water meter.  Great.

So I went out to look and sure enough, there it was.  It might have been great if it was a real underground spring that was blessing me with free water, but noooo.  It was very expensive water from the city.  Just great.

So I call the city and of course it is the weekend, so they are going to charge me $75 to come out and shut it off.  I guess they don’t have enough fees tacked onto my water bill to cover this.  Of course they won’t FIX the problem, as the break is in the line from the meter to my house, not out in the street.  Yeah, its what I live for.  I would really hate it if life got boring . . . and everything went the way I wanted it to.  Yeah, that would really suck.

So I wrack my brain thinking out what I need to do next.  One thought that keeps running through my brain is: My parents lived in the same house for 50 years and THEIR water supply pipe never broke, why me?!  I know, jackasses will tell me not to whine, but I could make a very long list of problems I have had to deal with and opportunities my parents had that I will never have, and well, it doesn’t do to spend too much time in that train of thought.  It only leads either to depression or thoughts of violence, both of which I prefer to avoid.

Soooo, today is Wednesday and I think I have all the problems worked out at least as to how to solve the busted water pipe issue.  I had to call the city, as my plumber can’t work on it for a week and the city said they only allow a bypass hose to my house to remain in place for 7 days. 

Well, this is going to cost me a couple thousand dollars on top of the rotting deck I’m working on that will also cost me over $2,000 to tear out and replace, which work I am doing  myself to keep the costs down.

Did I mention that I am going out of town next week to visit my son and granddaughter whom I have not seen for about 2 years?   So, the actual repair will be going on while I am gone.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Let me leave you with Murphy’s primary law: “Anything that can go wrong will go wrong.” 

And this: “If there is a possibility of several things going wrong, the one that will cause the most damage will be the one to go wrong.”
Extreme version:
“If there is a possibility of several things going wrong, the one that will cause the most damage will be the FIRST to go wrong.” 

Also: “Left to themselves, things tend to go from bad to worse.”

The Hamster never gives up and never gives in.

