Okay, so now my cell phone isn’t holding a charge very long, and I’m going out of town for a week.  I guess I’ll have to buy a car charger and I lost my hands-free headset, so I’ll get a new one of those too.  Brother, when things go wrong, it just keeps going.  At least I got my car back from the shop for under $200 this time.

So, the deck.  Between finishing up my long distance biking (July 30th) and losing most of my energy due to the low carb diet I was put on for the purpose of NOT coming down with diabetes type II, which I am uncomfortably close to, my water pipe breaking and my primary transportation vehicle breaking down, it has been hard to keep up with the deck demo.

Deck removed from east end

Deck removed from east end

All that said, I keep soldiering on, working at it a bit at a time.  I will get it all done; our rainy season usually doesn’t start until after September, so I’m hoping I can get it done before then.  It sucks to be working on a project outside while water drips in your eyes, soaks the wood, turns the dirt to mud and makes everything heavier.

The hose you see hanging down is for the painter so he can get water for his work.  I am having the East wall of the house painted right now, as it gets a lot of sun and its been about 5 years since it was last painted.  There is an electric extension cord sticking out on the driveway side for him to plug his paint sprayer thingy into today.

West end of deck

West end of deck

You should see the driveway.  Ohhh, I should have taken a picture before I left this morning.  It’s all dug up and has paint sprayed lines and circles where the ditch will be dug for the new water line.  You know a boring life looks pretty good right now.

So I will be able to make one more trip to the dump this weekend, before taking off for my visit to my son’s.  I feel really good about getting rid of this deck.  It was a mess and looked awful, as well as covering up way too much of the great rocks that make up my bank.

I’m starting to feel better with a little more energy, so it’s not so much of a struggle to do anything physical.  I’m thinking the naturopath has a far better plan for how to avoid getting the type II diabetes.  Anyway, I’m eating healthier; it has been over a month since I had any white bread, sugar or pasta.  Yesterday I had a half cup of something called gelato, which I’m told is a type of Italian ice cream.  Sure was good.

There is a funny quote I think of often from the Simpsons TV show, it is from Bart: “I didn’t do it, nobody saw me do it, you can’t prove anything.” I love it.

The Hamster is doing well

