Finally removing joists

6 Joists removed from center portion

Hi there, my numerous fan!  I was so proud of my progress yesterday on the deck demo.  Check out the pictures; I finally am removing the joists!  I’m walking around on the beams and joists about 5 feet above ground and I feel like a real carpenter person.  I think learning to “do it yourself” is a great way to simplify your life, learn new skills and cut costs!  I’m having a great time.  It is a little scary, tackling a job of this magnitude, but that makes the reward all that much greater when it is completed.

I’m really starting to believe I can actually do this!  It is so exciting looking forward to my new decks; if you haven’t been keeping up, I will be replacing the humongous deck with 2 smaller decks, one at each end of the house.  The one that is off the dining room will be the largest. 

Middle section showing where the hole where joists were removed.

Hole showing where the 6 joists were removed.

I’m getting good at using the sawzall and a reversing drill.  The screws holding the joist brackets are of two kinds; square head and phillips head.  Plus there are nails in most of the brackets.  So I need an assortment of tools to get the joists off the house and the beams.  I have a pry bar that is about 18″ long which I use a LOT for this, a hammer, and the two power tools mentioned above. 

It didn’t rain yesterday, which was a great help.  I don’t plan on working on the deck much in the rain because the wood gets slippery and at this point I’m walking around on the beams and joists and stepping between nails; it just isn’t safe enough for my taste.

Did I mention that I’m 60?  I think older people should always be learning.  I’m starting an accounting class in a couple of weeks.  That is a little daunting too, but what the heck.  I can do it, I’m sure.  I just have to dig in and get started.

“Get over the idea that only children should spend their time in study.  Be a student so long as you still have something to learn, and this will mean all your life.”  ~Henry L. Doherty

Here is another good quote: “Anyone who stops learning is old, whether this happens at twenty or eight. Anyone who keeps on learning not only remains young, but becomes constantly more valuable regardless of physical capacity.”–Harvey Ullman
A hamster of many skills 🙂

