What's left of the old deck

What's left of the old deck

First, I have to apologize for the messed up layout of yesterday’s post.  Somehow my text got included in the title/ caption area for the picture.  It looks awful, but I don’t know if I can change it once I hit “publish”.  I thought I’d just leave it this time, as I was out of time yesterday.

I had to run some errands and then get home to work on the deck.  As you can see from these pictures, it got dark before I was ready to quit.  I only have a short section of joists to remove this week, and I will then be ready to start on the new deck.

I found out yesterday that the last portion of the deck in my demolition process is also the most rotten.  It was so fragile that I was afraid to stand on the deck while removing the last of the boards.  The joists were literally hollow and when I walked on the deck it bounced a little and jiggled like it was about to collapse.  So I switched to working from below and using the ladder when I needed to.  In cutting the joists they just fell off.  It was pretty creepy, when I think about that I have been walking on that.  Well, that was why I started this demo job, but I didn’t know just HOW rotten some of the decking was!

I can hardly wait.  I think it looks better already, even with all the joist materials sitting on the ground!  I love the big rocks that make up the bank that goes to my backyard.  In our climate here, they are covered with moss and ferns, along with some tiny wild strawberries that spread out their little tendrils and sprout all over the place.  They actually taste great, but you would have to pick a zillion of them to get a cupful!

Shows area of removed deck.

Shows area of removed deck.

The picture to the right shows the large area where decking, joists and beams have been removed.  At the bottom you can also see the neat pile of some of the joists and beams.  There’s another pile on the bank, but I didn’t feel like moving that over to the new pile.  I have another load of rotten decking to take to the dump and haven’t gotten it loaded into the truck yet.  For one thing, there are a lot of nails sticking out and I bend them all over so I don’t puncture myself, or put scratches on my truck bed.

You can also see my new rain barrel, which I am excited to install so that I can get free water for yard watering purposes.  I also consider it a backup water supply if we ever get our water cut off for some disaster or other.  I can filter and boil it for drinking in an emergency.  I thought I would wait until I get the friggin’ deck rebuilt before installing the rain barrel though.  If it works out well, I think I’ll get another one for the other end of the house.  They are both on the back side of the house and face the bank, so no one can see them.  They won’t affect the appearance of the front of the house.

Well, that’s all for now – can’t wait to finish off the last part of the old deck!

Hardhat hamster

