Hey:

Just thought I would mention that I am not doing my long distance bicycling during the fall and winter.  Yes, I am sort of a fair weather biker. However, I do bike in the rain a lot in the spring and summer, but the rain is warmer then! 

This morning I was driving to work and it was FOGGY.  That sort of weather makes me nervous on a bike.  I did come across two bikers – this at 7:20 am!  I couldn’t see them until I was fairly close – don’t ask me to estimate the distance, I’m not good at that.  Ok, well, maybe about a block away.  This was in the county and there aren’t any “blocks”, just long 2-lane streets with occasional side streets. 

Squirrel in the road

Squirrel in the road

Well, I could see the bikers but then I pay attention to such things when driving – bikers, squirrels running across the road, dogs, deer, etc.  A serious percentage of drivers are distracted and have no idea what is going on around them.  If you doubt this, just PAY ATTENTION when you are driving and notice how many drivers wander all over their lane and into the next lane, make turns to the right ACROSS the outside lane, and pull into and out of streets apparently unaware that there are other cars on the road. 

So, anyway, I’m working on myself at the gym, which I do all year round.  Four times a week, one hour each visit, is about what I seem able to maintain.  I really like working out, I like the way it feels; I hate flabby muscles and not having enough strength to do the things I want to do.  Beside, it makes it much easier getting in shape for biking and/or hiking.

Also, as I get older, I find the time (about 5 minutes) that I spend stretching is critical.  I have developed aches and pains that I am sure would be causing serious mobility problems and mega pain if I did not stretch regularly. 

Here’s a good article on older athletes, check it out: http://www.thatsfit.com/2010/01/22/triathlete-stays-fit-and-ageless/

Hamsters rule!

