I promise, I will NOT put a photo of the dead bunny rabbit and what has been happening to it.  It is one of those occurances that us city dwellers don’t have much contact with.  You know, nature.  Life and death, that is life and death not related to cars and high speed impacts.  Bunnies after all, are cute fuzzy little creatures that are harmless, unless you are trying to grow some lettuce. 

This guy could have come from the neighbor’s rabbit hutch as an escapee, thinking that “Heck, I don’t want to live in that stupid unpainted box with the wire bars across the door.  I want to eat when I feel like it and run free through the clover.”  Well, if that was the case, it ended badly, I can tell you. 

Scary bunny picture

Sorry, I just had to include a scary bunny picture

So anyway, I went out behind the house last evening, before dark to carry some more kitchen scraps to my barrel and I couldn’t help but look at the carcass to see if it was a) still there, b) in same condition or c) eaten.

I knew looking was fraught with the possibility of really gross images being burned onto my retina and forever embedded in my brain, but I swear, I couldn’t help myself. 

So, I looked.  Actually, it wasn’t as bad as the last time.  Most of the bunny had been eaten and there wasn’t very much left.  Mostly the rear legs and a little more.  I just couldn’t bring myself to take a CLOSE look.  I’m not really a masochist and I was really hoping something would have drug it off and I could just try to forget about it.

Soooo . . . . I will try to carry off what is left and give the little guy a decent burial in the back yard this weekend.

Cute dead bunny

Cute dead bunny

Think pleasant hamster thoughts.  Send the bunny spirit to the sky.

