Whew! I can hardly believe it, as I have said last week, the first deck has been started.  The structual portion has been built.  I am including some pictures.  I am so excited I can hardly stand myself. 

Structural for the big deck

Structural for the big deck

The guys from work came a built this while I was spending a day working on a Habitat for Humanity house.  Can you believe it?  So I come home and it is all nice and secure.
We kept changing the dimensions of the deck slightly, to accomodate an existing hose bib on the second floor of the house that was accessible from the old deck, to maximize usage of the dimensions of the lumber, plus the existing locations of the concrete piers.  To build the new deck with the least expense, time and effort I wanted to keep the concrete posts where they were.  In any case, it came out great! 
I finally got out this past weekend and got the final dimensions of the deck so we can now order the decking material. 
P.S.: The dead rabbit was all gone this Saturday.  Apparently whatever killed it and was munching on it during the week finished it off.  Only a few puffs of fur were left.  So I didn’t have to perform burial rites for the little guy.   There is some nobility in its death providing nutrition for other animals so that they can live.
PPS: One of Murphy’s Laws: Skinners Constant. “That quantity which, when multiplied by, divided by, added to, or subtracted from the answer you got, gives you the answer you should have gotten.”
Hamsters may be small, but we know what ‘s going on.  We are watching you. Don’t screw it up.
