Soooo . . . . it is that time of year again.  I went to the movie rental store on Sunday and there was a whole wall of really freaky horrifying movies that the proprieters seemed to think for some reason that I would want to watch.  Please.  If I wanted to terrify myself so that I could never enjoy going out after dark or walking into my bathroom at night, I could watch the news. 

Do you really enjoy watching this?

Freaky Movie

Really, I’m serious.  I have often thought that the kind of people, and there apparently are a lot of them, who like to watch this kind of stuff have never really been afraid for their lives or they could not “enjoy” this.  Or another theory I have is that Americans for the most part are masochists who are not satisfied unless they are being abused in some way.  Actually, that theory answers a lot of questions I have had all my adult life about why Americans behave the way they do.

Like calling talk shows where the host verbally abuses the caller and then hangs up on them.  They have a seeminly endless stream of people who call and the host is rude to them and then hangs up. 

Really.  Why does anyone call them?  By all that makes sense, they should be sitting in a dark room with the shades pulled, surrounded by their own garbage, never visited by anyone.

Oh, well, back to Halloween.  Basically it is supposed to be when the dead come out and walk the earth for one night.  Now that is not a warm and fuzzy concept.  If I thought that was true I’d lock all the windows and doors and hide under a blanket until the sun came up.  However, it has morphed into a fun holiday where kids and adults dress up in funny costumes and either go around collecting candy or drink and make merry, depending on one’s age.

Why did anyone even make this movie?

Why does anyone watch this crap?

These seem like harmless and fun things to do and I have no problem with that aspect of the holiday as long as I am not required to participate.  I admit, I have my personal fun meter set on a very different spot than the merrymakers do.  I have fun, just in a different way.  No costumes booze or candy required.  I’m not judging anyone else, and I would appreciate it if they would not assume that I am not having fun just because I’m not on a sugar high or acting peculiar due to high blood alcohol content.

What does disturb me is the bloody horror movies that are so popular especially this time of year.  This bothers me because I’m not sure that if someone can enjoy watching this stuff, where does the enjoyment of watching people being dismembered and covered in blood blend with reality?  I guess the problem is I don’t see how a normal mentally healthy person can enjoy this stuff and that is what makes me uncomfortable.

The hamster tries to stay on top of what is real and that is scary enough.  Do you know that we are racing at breakneck speed into a perfect storm of disasters?  The earth cannot support all the people we are producing. We are running out of water, food production capability, antibiotics are losing their ability to work, the worlds climate is warming and the oceans are rising, the fish in the oceans are 90% gone and one big crop failure could put the entire world in a famine, since agribusiness has turned to mono crop food production.  Still want to go see a scary movie?  Look out your door.

“I recently heard about a mass murderer who killed seventeen people in three days… they say he was a loner. Well, of course he was. He apparently killed everyone he came in contact with!”
– George Carlin

“Humor is the absence of terror, and terror the absence of humor.”
– Lord Richard Buckle

“You know the world is going crazy when the best rapper is a white guy, the best golfer is a black guy, the tallest guy in the NBA is Chinese, the Swiss hold the America’s Cup, France is accusing the U.S. of arrogance, Germany doesn’t want to go to war, and the three most powerful men in America are named ‘Bush’, ‘Dick’, and ‘Colon.’ Need I say more?”
– Chris Rock

The hamster has learned to turn off reality and read a good book. But she knows.

