Hey – all my growing up years my dad always said any home should have a heat source that will work if the power goes out.  So, add to that embedded in my brain and psyche the wild swings of local climate that are expected and already occurring for many locations and you will understand my frustration at not being able to come up with said alternate heat source.

I do have a fireplace, but as anyone knows they don’t really provide much heat to the house, it mostly goes up the chimney.  Better than nothing, but not a lot better.

When I was growing up we had a neat wood burning stove that was called a “trash burner”.  We didn’t burn any trash in it, other than some paper when we started it up each time.

Just like the one we had in our house when I was growing upk.

1950's trash burner

It was in the kitchen and put out a nice bunch of heat.  I’m sure it was not up to current standards required for wood stoves, so with a heavy sigh I am no longer looking for one of those.  I wanted one and have found some on craigslist, but I don’t think I could get anyone to install it and I can’t do it myself, so I decided I need to find a used wood stove that is up to current codes.

So anyway, I can’t afford a new wood stove and its installation.  This leads me to live with a bit of an uneasy feeling each time winter approaches.  I know I can build a fire in the fireplace and I have camping equipment that can be used to heat up a pot of boiling water, but any real heat is not available in the event of a week’s long power outage.

Did you know that gas appliances (such as my gas burning forced air furnace) will not work without power)?

We are still working on the micro-wind generator and are getting closer to funding.

Well, gotta go for now, the hamster is keeping warm.  How cold does it get in the Pacific Northwest anyway?

