“I like these cold, gray winter days. Days like these let you savor a bad mood.”  Bill Watterson quotes (American Author of the comic strip Calvin & Hobbes, b.1958)

Ok, so I confess.  I am a liberal, progressive type politically.  I am opposed to all wars, so I’m a peacenik too.  I have been withdrawing into myself for the last 10 years now, I guess. It all started with Bush/ Cheney and now Obama is not what those of us who voted for him had hoped for, and is not doing what this country and the world needs him to do.  I feel like one of those little things that grows at the edge of the ocean, in the tidal pools, and looks sort of  like flowers, and if you poke them they pull into themselves and look like squishy tubes stuck to the rocks.

I lost my career as an engineer because there just isn’t any construction going on, and what

Tidal pool critters
Tidal pool critters – soothing, aren’t they?

little there is, is done on the cheap. That means they just plop the minimum amount of HVAC packaged equipment into a building and don’t bother with having an engineer make sure it all works.  Who cares anyway?  The builder isn’t the one who is going to be using the building.  It becomes someone elses problem as soon as it’s built. 

That pretty much describes what is wrong with this country.  Everyone is busy blaming someone else, and corruption aside, many people get away with doing sloppy, illegal and dishonest work because they can hide “in the crowd” so to speak.  

 When my cats aren’t happy, I’m not happy. Not because I care about their mood but because I know they’re just sitting there thinking up ways to get even.”  Percy Bysshe Shelley quotes (English Romantic Poet whose passionate search for personal love and social justice was gradually channeled from overt actions into poems that rank with the greatest in the English language. 17921822)

So, I have been wracking my brain for two years, since I was laid off my lucrative engineering gig, trying to figure out what to do.  If you are 20 something, you at least are young and people will hire you because you are young.  When you get to 60, all they see is their health insurance payments will quadruple or more just because you are 60 and not 59,  and you aren’t as cute as you were when you were in your 20’s or 30’s.  Except for me, of course, ha, ha.

So, I’m studying accounting, with the theory that I’m good with numbers, and it is something I can do sitting down, which may be necessary when I’m 75, and I hope to god there will still be some companies doing business for the next 25 years so I can have places to work.

Ok, now the problem is to keep my sanity.  I cannot listen to the news anymore, such as it is.  Don’t get me started on the fact that hardly any real news gets reported anymore.  So, I spend my “spare time” doing repair projects around the house, reading Perry Mason novels, a few sci-fi’s, some end-of-the-world survival scenario novels, which can be fun not because they are end of the world stories, but because someone in the book is smart and resourceful enough to survive and maybe even thrive through the mess.  That can leave the reader with a feeling that maybe there is hope.

One of the things I miss these days is humor.  When I was younger, I read two newspapers a day and the first page I turned to was the comics page.  After I got through laughing I would turn to the editorial page and following that, I’d go through the news.  The comics aren’t funny anymore.  I guess the papers don’t want to pay for comics because most of the comics in today’s papers were written during the 1950’s to the 1970’s and are just being re-printed.  The rest are sanitized crap that just isn’t funny.  They are bland, with a capital B.

Heres some biting edge humor: 

“I’m completely in favor of the separation of Church and State. My idea is that these two institutions screw us up enough on their own, so both of them together is certain death.”
George Carlin

 “If it’s true that our species is alone in the universe, then I’d have to say the universe aimed rather low and settled for very little.”
George Carlin

“Inside every cynical person, there is a disappointed idealist.”
George Carlin
The Hamster trudges on.  I think I’ll take up painting again.

