Craftsman bandsaw, circa 1940's

Craftsman bandsaw inherited from my dad

So, here it is, as promised.  I checked it over last night, looking for data on it and here is what I found:  It was sold by Sears Roebuck & Co. (Remember when Sears was Sears Roebuck?, I do.), the model no. is 1030103 and it is a Craftsman.  I’m getting curious and I might do a internet search just to see when it was manufactured. 

Maybe I can even get an owners manual, not that I really need one at this point, but it would be cool to have it.  Here’s another pic:

My dad's bandsaw, still in use
60 year old bandsaw (I think) runs great

So far I’ve not done a great deal with the bandsaw, other than figuring out how to bust the blade, but I have used dad’s table saw quite a bit, making bookshelves.  I never have enough shelves for my books. 

I’m learning woodworking; right now I just know enough to know how to not cut off my fingers. 
I was a kid in the 50’s and 60’s and if you were a girl then, you have the general idea; dad taught the boys how to make things and fix things, and I got information when I hung around and listened in.  It still pisses me off that I was not allowed to take auto shop or woodshop in high school.  Thats a topic for another blog.
Anyway, I love old machinery that has been taken care of and is still in use.  So there ya go!
Woodworking hamster
