I am the perpetual run-away who never did.  It all started when I was a kid. I grew up in Seattle, which anyone from a really big city might have thought of as a cow-town in the 1950’s and maybe into the 60’s.  My family took our vacations camping out in the wilderness.  Dad would drive and drive, forever, it seemed to a small kid in the back seat, and we would end up in places like Glacier Park in Montana, or Death Valley.  One summer when I was seven, which would have been 1957, we drove the Alcan highway from Seattle to some place in Alaska named Deadhorse, and lots of places along the way of course.

What all this wilderness camping did for me was instill in me a dislike of long drives and love of the wilderness.  I find all types of wild places beautiful, from high deserts to Pacific Northwest Rainforests, but I much prefer the climate and the big Douglas Firs where I live over any other.

So, back to running away.  Most of us, my family included, and now my grown-up self, live in cities.  It is really hard to live in the wilds – where would you work for money?  I have not figured out how to get by without money, much as I would love to.  I am beginning to think that that old adage that “money is the root of all evil” is probably true.  Probably because some people can never get enough of it, and will do ANYTHING to get more. And others can’t get enough to live on. Well, that is a topic for another time.

So anyway, I never liked living in the city. I always was sad when we had to come back to the city and to our lives there.  I dreamed of running away and living in a little log cabin out in the woods.  I think I would be happy without most of the trappings of modern civilization; electricity, gas furnaces and indoor plumbing. 

But, I was a kid and I knew it just couldn’t be done.  As a second choice I wanted to be a forest ranger, but I was a young woman in the 60’s and they weren’t hiring women for that job.  Anyway, I grew up, always with my dream in mind.  I thought that maybe, someday, I could go away, at least for weekends or something.  Now I’m 60 and I have the same dream, the same desire to just chuck it all and go off and live in the woods. 

Wilderness beauty

Wilderness beauty

But now I have bad teeth that need ever-vigilant dental care (very expensive) the price of an acre of land in the woods has skyrocketed, and my income has plummeted, so  . . . . not going to happen I guess.

The urge to run is always there, though, and a love of the wilderness and the mountains is ever-present for me.  We’ll see.

Hamsterdreams

