So, I never did get any help with my accounting program (Peachtree) problem.  This time the issue was the program would not save/ post my journal data; something about the date it didn’t like.  I put a description of my problem on the class website LAST WEDNESDAY, but did not get any assistance, either from the other students OR THE TEACHER.  By Saturday morning I was kinda stressed about this.

Pretty winter scene

Pretty winter scene

However, I had been thinking about it for the last 3 days and had developed a theory.  I decided that if no one answered my pleas for help by Saturday noon, I would try my theory.  The way I did it was I deleted my data I had entered already and exited from Peachtree. I then re-opened it, keeping the year in the date field that was the default year.  Our instructor told us to use 2006, but I thought it probably didn’t matter what year it was, as long as the month and day were correct.

Well, it worked.  I was so freakin’ relieved I entered some data and then saved it all and gave myself a break.  I felt like I deserved it.  I’ll be working on it again tonight, and it should be fine from now on, I am keeping my fingers crossed though. 

In addition to the accounting stuff, it has snowed and iced here in the PNW.  I picked up my mom Saturday and brought her to my house, but it was a real skating rink on the roads.  Thank god my dad was a good driver and taught me how to drive in the snow.  I’m really good at snow/ ice driving, but for some reason it always scares me.  I keep telling myself how good I am at it, but it stresses me out, none-the-less.   

Another winter snow scene

Another winter snow scene

Crap, I took some pictures of the snow on the deck (structural only, still), but I don’t have the camera with me.  Oh, well, I’ll put the pics on the blog tomorrow.  It’s not very spectacular, just proof that yes, it has snowed here.  The temp has been hovering around 26 degrees since Friday, and today is lower.  The wind is picking up too, the weather prediction is for up to 45 mph winds this evening.  I would really love a nice wood stove for backup heating, it would lower my stress level.  I looked up the costs though, and it looks like I could get a stove (EPA certified) for around a $1,000 and then the installation costs are supposed to be around $3,000.  Way beyond my budget.

Well, you know what 45 mph winds mean; branches down on power lines, and power outages.  Oh well, its actually kinda fun when the power goes out, unless you are on the internet working on accounting homework!

Hamsters rule.

