Snowman funeral

Snowman funeral

Ok, admit it, this is very funny.  So we don’t have this much snow here.  We might before the winter is over, it’s only November 24.  We get most of our snow, when we do get some, around the end of December and in January.  Last Saturday we only got 3″ at my place, and it is so cold you can’t make snowmen with it. 

The temp just kept dropping, from around 26 to 7 degrees last night.  Just for your information, its not usually that cold around here, and tomorrow its supposed to get up to 40 (F).  I forgot to check my garage this morning before leaving, I hope the garage maintained its usual cold weather temp of 50; as long as the water pipe to the house doesn’t freeze, I’m happy.  It’s exposed in the corner of the garage, but I was smart enough to insulate it several years ago. 

Another funny snowman cartoon

Another funny snowman cartoon

I couldn’t believe it when I bought the house, that the exposed pipe was not insulated.  The wall behind it shows that someone used a blow torch to thaw it out one year.  The wall behind the pipe is black from someone burning it at some time in the past.  And they still didn’t bother to insulate the pipe.  I do not understand people. 

 The last time we had a cold snap like this it stayed around 50 in there.  As long as we have electricity!  I’ve been checking on the cost of wood stoves and the installation costs associated with them.  I can’t afford it this winter, what with having to have my water line to my house replaced this fall and the deck, but maybe next fall I could get a wood stove. 

Wood stove - cozy, reassuring

Wood stove - cozy, reassuring when the power goes out

Not one to actually heat the house to 68 degrees, but just to keep it from freezing if we lose electricity for too many days.  Also, it would be nice to have a way to heat water or whatever.  The fireplace isn’t very efficient for heating or cooking.

The hamster has lots of fuzzy blankets

