So anyway, I was thinking this morning about accounting classes and after how many classes I would be able to get a job doing accounting.  Just wondering.  I’ve almost finished my first class, I’m sorry is it too soon to be thinking about this? 

That “the end of the world as we know it” thing – does anyone else sort of follow the TEOTWAWKI crowd on the internet?  They are an interesting bunch, to say the least.  They seem to be comprised of  libertarians, anarchists and people who bought a lot of guns and can’t wait to shoot someone; many someone’s. 

I understand the concept, and I can’t say I disagree with it in general; we can’t continue an economical system that is dependant on constantly growing in order to survive, on a finite world.  Nor, I might add, something that has bothered me since the 60’s when it was first brought up; we cannot keep increasing the human population infinitly in this finite world.  I have a neighbor who has 7 kids.  I ask you, does that make any sense?  The most any couple should have is 2.  Ok, if a mistake is made, 3.  That should be it.

There is no argument that can justify having 4 to 7 kids.  I am terribly afraid that one day soon, when the antibiotics have lost their ability to cure, the human population will be spontaneously reduced in numbers. 

Detroit - a vision of the future?

Detroit - a vision of the future?

Well, sorry about all the doom and gloom.  I guess thinking about the TEOTWAWKI’ers got me thinking about those issues. 

On a lighter note, do you have a job?  Has the value of your house increased, decreased or stayed the same?  Have you had your pay or hours cut? 

Ok, I’m sorry.  This’ll cheer you up, some Lilly Tomlin lines:

”The trouble with the rat race is that even if you win, you’re still a rat.”

“Ninety eight percent of the adults in this country are decent, hardworking, honest Americans. It’s the other lousy two percent that get all the publicity. But then, we elected them.”

“No matter how cynical you get it’s impossible to keep up.”

“Reality is nothing but a collective hunch.”

And my personal favorite: “Reality is for those who can’t handle drugs.”  Oh, did I use this one yesterday?  Never mind, it never gets old.

Hamster time.

