Doonesbury comic

Doonesbury gets it right

So, I made the mistake on the weekend of checking out the news. No, I don’t mean CNN or MSNBC or the pablum “news” on TV.  I search the internet and find some real news.  I shouldn’t have done that.  I can’t take knowing anymore about what is going on in the world, and in America in particular. 

Of course, some of what I found may be the ramblings of paranoid types, but I don’t think so.  Has anyone else who reads this blog seen the stuff on the internet about FEMA camps and stacks of thousands of coffins hidden in the woods?  Jessie Ventura, the guy who is the ex-governor of Minnesota, apparently has a TV show that is a paranoid freak’s nightmare, all about conspiracy theories.  From the one I saw on the internet, it’s all bad. 

But you know the saying, “Just because you’re paranoid, doesn’t mean they aren’t really after you.”

Here, abandon reality for awhile and laugh a little, whatever is coming will come, no need to dwell on it anymore than is necessary to survive it:

”Whats all this stuff about motivation? I say, if you need motivation, you probably need more than motivation. You probably need chemical intervention or brain surgery.  Actually, if you ask me, this country could do with a little less motivation. The people who are causing all the trouble seem highly motivated to me.” – George Carlin

“The day after tomorrow is the third day of the rest of your life.” – George Carlin

“Honesty may be the best policy, but it’s important to remember that apparently by elimination, dishonesty is the second best policy.”  – George Carlin

“I’m not concerned about all hell breaking loose, but that a PART of hell will break loose  . . .it’ll be much harder to detect.” – George Carlin

And I will end with my favorite quote from Lilly Tomlin: “Reality is a crutch for people who can’t handle drugs.”

The hamster is hanging in there, but don’t ask how the accounting class is going. Thank god it will be over on Thursday.

