So, did the holiday live up to your expectations?  Enough about that.

Christmastime in the northwest

Winter in the northwest

I intentionally avoided all news over for the last four days.  In any case, I never catch the so called news on the TV, or the radio.  I get info off the internet, from sources that seem trustworthy.  I have never understood how an entire nation, raised on television, could just believe whatever comes over the tube.  It’s like the joke that where one guy says to another, “It was printed in the newspaper, so it must be true.”  Or the more updated version, “It was on the internet, so it must be true.”  Or, not to belabor the point, but I will, “It was on the evening TV news, so it must be true.”  Does ANYONE fact check anymore?  Does anyone think critically? 

Sigh, oh well.  Look up Chris Hedges writings, if you want to confirm your worst fears.  The awful thing about his comments, is he knows what he is talking about and is experienced and intelligent. 

Ok, back to the mundane world of my backyard.  My deck, specifically.  I know, the world is crashing around us, and I am writing about my problems with Trex decking and screws.  If you want to know the truth, I don’t really have anyone to complain to except my cats, so I’m writing about my problems here. 

So, my friend and I did get all the decking attached to the joists last Friday.  Yeah!  I have to cheer that.  But, and this is a big butt – yes, I know how to spell it correctly – 2 of the screws would not go all the way into the decking, nor could I get them out.  What they did was lift up the deck board when I unscrewed them, instead of unscrewing out of the board. 

No, I don’t recall if I was standing on the board when I tried to unscrew the screws.  I suppose I must not have been.  My back kept getting tired and I would sometimes kneel on the deck to give my back a rest and I probably was not putting any weight on the board when I did this.  Sigh.  Now I have 2 bumped up boards that I have to figure out how to correct.  I will, but for right now I’m just going to take a break and stop swearing and scaring the neighborhood kids.

I got another batch of brew started brewing on Sunday.  It looks good – dark but not too dark.  One batch I made turned out almost black.  It was good, but I hadn’t added enough water.  I know now that pretty much all beer brew kits are made to produce 5 gallons of beer.  Or to brew 5 gallons.  You lose some due to the stuff that settles on the bottom of the brewing container and you don’t want to bottle that, so you end up losing probably a quart.  Or more if you break a bottle, which I broke maybe 4 or 5 one time.  I think some of the bottles were of a thinner glass. 

Anyway, I’m looking forward to when I can drink some of this!  It’ll be great.  There’s a great song with some of the lyrics: 

That’s why we drink it here And when we’re all gone from here Our friends will be drinking all the beer. “Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.” – Ben Franklin.

“Do not cease to drink beer, to eat, to intoxicate thyself, to make love, and to celebrate the good days.”  Egyption proverb.

Happy hamster  🙂

