Erle Stanley Gardner, also writing as A. A. Fair
Erle Stanley Gardner

So, lately I’ve been reading another Bertha Cool and Donald Lam mystery written by Erle Stanley Gardner, aka A.A. Fair. 

I think we all need a break from what is going on today, as those who care and those who go to the trouble to ferret out the real news are in danger of getting really depressed. 
My escape fiction is Perry Mason books and the Bertha Cool Donald Lam mysteries.  My favorites are Perry Mason, probably because I loved the TV series, and when I’m reading I see the actors from the show in my mind.  Raymond Burr, Barbara Hale, William Hopper, William Talman and Ray Collins.  As actors they really seemed to enjoy working together, which gave me a warm fuzzy feeling watching the show.  They always got the bad guy and cleared the innocent something I wish was part of the real justice system.  Morally pure, with no complications.  It makes great escape material.
Anyway, as far as I can tell with my limited research, they are all out of print.  So I order used copies off Amazon.com.  I get a kick out of the prices on the books – remember when they used to actually print the price right on the cover?  No bar codes, the price didn’t change between when they printed the books and they were sold. 
I have paperbacks from the 1940’s to some from the 1960’s.  Prices even into the 60’s were only 50 cents or maybe 75 cents.  Books today cost around $8.00 or more.  Inflation?  You know they make up the numbers to keep people from know how much they are really being screwed these days.  And don’t get me started on the imaginary numbers they use for unemployment rates. 
See how hard it is to stay out of the realm of reality for some of us?  What is that famous quote from Lilly Tomlin?  “Reality is for people who can’t handle drugs.”  I love that.  I can’t handle drugs, so I have to deal with reality, sigh.
Hamster
PS:  Don’t forget how to get back to the real world, you just might need to.
