Bellinghamsters are rugged outdoors types

Nothing stops a Bellinghamster's outdoor recreation

I am happy to go for a hike, run or bike in the rain; I enjoy snowshoeing and hiking in the snow.  But this guy tops me by a long ways.  I do not engage in water sports when the outside temperature is below freezing.  I don’t care what they say about how warm the suits they wear are, I don’t believe them.  This guy is going paddle surfing; look behind him – there is snow on the ground.  The temp is in the 20’s. 

Icy roads and out of control sliding cars

Icy roads and out of control sliding cars

Here’s a reason to stay off the roads until the sanding trucks have gone by:

So, it’s supposed to snow again this evening, with another 2 – 3 inches of snow, but then do a typical Pacific NW weather thing and warm up, turning to rain. 

When I was a kid growing up here, I found that so ‘effing frustrating.  Because I wanted to play in the snow, and we didn’t get it every year, and then when we did, it often snowed for a few hours and ended up with a couple hours of rain.  That turned the snow to an ugly brown slush very quickly.

We really have just the right amount of snow here; it rarely gets to be more than 12″, and when it does that, it melts within a week, rarely it might last 2 weeks, as it did a couple of years ago.  Then its back to the same ‘ol, same ‘ol, drizzly rain or just clouds with no precipitation.

Anyway, I like it here and if you just love the snow, its only 1 hour away, up at Mount Baker.

The hamster is feeling pretty good today

