When Bad Things Happen to Good People

In reading people's life changing favorite books, I recalled this book "When Bad Things Happen to Good People". I would not say it changed my life, but I pull it out and re-read it every few years. It is a short little book, but is packed with more wisdom than I have read anywhere else, and I have read the Bible, several books by the Dahli Lama, and other wise persons.

The author's name is Harold Kushner, and he is a rabbi. He wrote the book after his son was born with the incurable genetic disease progeria, which causes rapid aging and those who have it die of old age before reaching adulthood.

He discuses why if the universe was created and is governed by a God who is of a good and loving nature, there is so much suffering and pain in the world. He essentially discusses the problem of evil and suffering.

Powered by Plinky

