Swiss Family Robinson

10/365. Hog butcher to the world…

I read Upton Sinclair's book "The Jungle" when I was a teenager. It changed my life because it opened my eyes to the food supply chain in America, as well as the way corporations treat their workers. Those two things have been terribly important to me all of my life since.

Unfortunately I have never had the time or freedom to participate in political action, other than voting and writing letters, but as our country has changed in my 60 years of life, I can see that we are going back to the days of Upton Sinclair's novel, and it frightens me. Workers are crippled on machinery in the meat packing industry that moves too fast for humans to work safely, and the poor animals are treated cruelly as well. I am not a vegetarian, but I know that animals that are grown for the purpose of human consumption should be treated with kindness and respect during their lives.

Powered by Plinky

