Mount Baker on way to office

Mount Baker on way to office

I was born in Seattle and spent most of my life there.  I was a kid when they built the I-5 freeway through my part of the north end; I went to the 1962 World’s Fair in Seattle. 

My dad even took us all down to see the construction of the Space Needle.  They were pouring gigantic concrete forms to hold the steel beams that the Space Needle is constructed of.  It was pretty cool.  Maybe that is one of the reasons I got interested in engineering for a career.

The high school I went to was only 5 years old – it seemed brand new to me.  As a building, it was very nice.  I didn’t enjoy high school, but that wasn’t the fault of a dilapidated building or weed-strewn landscaping, as it has become.  Seattle has built some gorgeous sports stadiums in recent years, using public funds, but they are not keeping up their school buildings in all neighborhoods. 

Now I don’t like to go there, and I’m happy about my decision to move 80 miles north.  I love the Pacific Northwest, but what I love here does not have much to do with city living.  I love the mountains, snow capped in winter and covered with green forests in the summer.  I love the ferns that even grow on the sides of trees, competing with the moss that seems to cover so many trees.  It never dries out here – if we go 2 weeks without rain, it’s considered a drought. 

Car at office
Car at office – note the trees!

I love being  close to the ocean as well.  I can indulge my moods and when I want, I am within 5 miles of Puget Sound, 50 miles of Mount Baker, and an endless number of trails inbetween to roam the forests.

When I was laid off from my engineering job over 2 years ago, I considered moving back to Seattle, as I assume there are more job opportunities there.  When I thought about how I would feel living there again, I just resolved that I would do whatever I had to, to stay here.

Even as a child I never liked the sound of all the cars roaring by on I-5; maybe it was because I had about 12 years of my life imprinted without that.  They never have dealt with the over-abundance of cars on Seattle’s roads and it is a commuting nightmare.

As a child I always preferred to play in any woods I could find, over using playground equipment.  My brothers and I had many happy hours building “forts” in the little woodlots in our neighborhood, until houses were built there.

The endless miles of concrete sidewalks and roads always turned me off as well.  I much prefer walking on a gravel or dirt path to the debri-free and bland, colorless city sidewalks.  My favorite type of road is one that is a gravel path winding through a forest of evergreen trees whose branches have grown over the road, making it a virtual tunnel through the forest. 

So there ya go,

Hamster report on country living

