I’ve loved being up before the sun ever since I was a kid.  When I was a teenager, and this was in the 60’s, I took up jogging, so I could run in the fresh, pre-smog, early morning air.  I enjoyed being outdoors and watching the sun come up.  If you are a night-type person, you may not know this, but sunrise in the winter is spectactular!  The sky colors range from all sorts of delicate pinks to lavendars and purple. With the snow-capped mountains in the back ground, it is breathtaking.

Old wood fence and pink sky
Old wood fence and pink sky

My pictures don’t do justice to the sunrise, but I have to try.  Maybe if I keep taking photos they will improve over time!

Trees in silouette & pink clouds
Trees in silouette & pink clouds

I couldn’t stop and pull off the road in a good spot to take pictures of the sunrise itself, so these photos are looking to the west, away from the sunrise. 

I was stricken by the wonderful pattern the clouds were creating.  Very nice.

Pink and lavendar clouds at sunrise

Pink and lavendar clouds at sunrise

So, I feel sorry for all the late-risers who cannot enjoy the amazing colors and the way the air smells at 6:00 am on a winter morning.  The peace and quiet.  The stillness of the air – it has always seemed to me that the earth herself is waking up at dawn. 

Enjoy!

Hamster dreamer

