Trex decking, cut edge
Trex decking, cut edge

This is showing the side of the deck where I trimmed about 18″ off the ends of the Trex boards.  It looks good, eh!

It was my first experience using a circular saw (see yesterday’s photo of a saw just like the one I used). I was careful – I wore safety goggles, even though I wear glasses, so sometimes I think I don’t need goggles over the glasses I’m already wearing.  But the Trex material was flying off the saw at a pretty high rate of speed and hitting my face, along with flying in other directions, so I felt better about having more eye/ face protection.

Overall view of my deck, with ends trimmed.

Overall view of my deck, with ends trimmed.

Ok, one more photo!

Overall view of my deck, with ends trimmed.
Close up of trimmed side of deck

Well, that’s it for now.  I have a list of the materials to build the foundation for the small deck, which will be to the right of this deck, and the materials list for the railings for both decks. 

When both decks are finished, the next project will be to make a nice path to the back yard.  It will go up the bank, onto this deck and then up the rest of the existing path to the flat area above the decks.  It’ll be fun!

Hamster report

