I’m so sorry.  I’m one of those people who are fascinated by gross stuff – not to include scary movies. Outside of the city there are a lot of squashed critters on the road.  Mostly small, which is a good thing, I think. 

Yesterday I saw a terribly messed up critter; I wasn’t sure what it was.  The majority of critters hit by cars are possums.  Don’t know why – maybe they are slow.  I’ve never seen one during the daytime, so they must roam about at night.  Maybe the car headlights hypnotise them.  Other road kill, in order of quantity on local roads are:

  • Raccons
  • Squirrels
  • Rabbits
  • Cats
  • Skunks
  • frogs
  • Birds
  • deer
  • Snakes
  • Unidentifiable

I don’t like to ad insult to death injuries by hitting the remains with my car, so I try to avoid that.  It seems bad enough that we wipe out millions of poor hapless creatures unable to fathom the danger of a ton of steel and plastic roaring along the concrete trails at speeds that do not compute in their brains.  I have sometimes wondered if we will, in time, eliminate all the  

More uses for road kill
More uses for road kill

genetic gene pools that cannot learn to avoid cars and so one day there woul be no more road kill, as the remaining animals that are capable of reproducing, spawn offspring that instinctively know to wait on the side of the road and let the cars pass; capable of judging the speed of the car and thus knowing when to cross safely.

Or, like my brothers and I when we were too young to be doing this, running half way across the major north-south highway that entered Seattle, and waiting for the traffic to thin out going in the opposite direction before racing across to the other side. 

Apparently our family gene pool was good at this, as we all survived our dare devil highway encounters.

Unlucky possum, lazy road striper
Unlucky possum, lazy road striper

There are some who eat road kill – I found several websites discussing “road kill cuisine” .   I think the title says it all.  I also think using the word “cuisine” is a mis-nomer.  In reading this article, it is not as bad as eating a pancake version of a raccoon – I guess maybe I can see the point in cooking and eating a bear or a deer right after it jumps in front of your car and gets sent to the next life, leaving its carcass behind.

Well, there ya go.  I found some really gross uses for road kill, but I suspect they were jokes.  I won’t even repeat what they said they did.  EEUWW!

I have my limits.

Hamster “facts”

