My friend and I took a trip to the U – district in Seattle to check out some weirdness.  What we went to see last Sunday was a restaurant that advertises itself as a purver of “bad art”.  The notice in a local paper showed photos of paintints of Elvis on black velvet for evidence, along with a motor scooter totally covered in tiny mirrors.  There was a monkey Mona Lisa, one “painting” that was supposed to be Jesus done in Peeps. 

I’ll show some photos of that stuff in the next blog – what I’m writing about today is what we saw when we walked down and alley on the way to our car.  One ironic thing about this piece of art is that it is incredibly well done, and it is only about a 100 yards from the really creepy stuff. Check this out:

Giant insect concert
Concert or proteste? I’m not sure . . .

This mural is on the alley side of a 1 story building and is about 10 feet by 40 feet.  The detail is amazing.  I’m not sure what else to say.  It is just awesome!  You don’t have to paint the Mona Lisa to show an amazing ability and talent.  

 Here’s another photo of this mural: 

A little more close-up
Close-up of the U-district bugs

I’ve seen some great wall murals in other towns, so I’ve decided to make a collection of photos of murals and post them on this blog.  The artisitic skills of these artists are awesome, and the imagination and creativity are incredible. 

 

 So, that’s it for the moment.  Oh, ok, I’ll show your the motor scooter with all the mirrors: 

Bad art display - mirrored scooter
Bad art display – mirrored scooter

There ya go!  More to come later.

 

Your roaming hamster.

