So, the other day I wrote about a cool mural I spotted in the U-district in Seattle.  It got me thinking about other great murals I’ve seen over the years.  I think because I live in a pretty creative, artistically oriented part of the U.S., there are quite a few of these sprinkled around the Puget Sound area.  Many in Seattle, but others can be spotted, sometimes in off-the-beaten path areas.  I’ve decided to post photos from now on, when I see one. 

Today, I’m featuring a Bellingham mural that is not really off the beaten path.  If you come into Bellingham on the main downtown street, Holly street, and follow that through the downtown area (not very far), you will come to the Rockin Donut Rocket and this very cool mural of 1890’s buildings, cars and people.

1890's scene in mural, part 1
1890’s scene in mural, part 1
Another portion of this awesome mural
Another portion of this awesome mural

A third portion of this mural
A third portion of this mural

The depth the artist put into this mural makes it seem as though you are actually looking at a scene in 1890.  The people are shown life size. 

It is painted on the side of a building next to a small parking lot. 

It is unique art and quirky expressions of art such as the restaurant of “bad art” we visited last weekend that remind me that we cannot be categorized as “consumers”, a descriptive label that has offended me for as long as I have heard it applied to Americans.  My thoughts when hearing that term are this: I am a citizen, I am an engineer (was, still think like one), I am a woman, I am a mother; I am many things, but narrowing it all down to what seems important to the powers that be to one of the things I do, that is, consume goods, is offensive to me.

So I look for expressions that prove that there are others among us who are so much more than “consumers of goods”.  We are individuals, we have hopes and dreams, some of us have quirky ideas of what is “art”, some of us just have a sense of humor; some of us are truly great artists.  Great art did not die out with Michelangelo and Leonardo DaVinci or even Pablo Picasso (whom I do not really care for).  Look around you, there are others expressing their individuality and their art.

The hamster report

