Seattle's Aurora bridge troll

Seattle's Aurora bridge troll

One of the things I like about Seattle is it’s distinctive neighborhoods – and the sense of humor some of them have.  The troll was created by local artists in 1990; he holds a volkswagon bug under his hand – no doubt yanked off the bridge above.  

Capitalist Lenin

Lenin in Fremont district

So, Lenin is disrespected in the center of capitalism!  He gets decorated whenever people are in the mood – christmas lights, scarves, etc. I wonder how he would feel about this if he knew? 

Waiting for the interurban

Waiting for the interurban

My dad was born in Seattle, and both my parents rode the interurban when it was running – 1910 to 1039.  It ran from Seattle to Everett and was an electric passenger rail public transportation.  This statue is well loved, and is often decorated, as you can see.  I’ve never seen it vandalized.

 So there you are.  I’d love to see other statues from your area – send photos!

Friday’s hamster report

