Snowy field

Snowy field

Ok, for you northeasterners, that’s no big whuff.  Here, it is just plain weird, unusual, almost never happens.  Crap, I just checked the weather report and they are predicting up to 3 inches of snow, at 90% chance.  I drove my little front wheel car this morning, because I thought today would be like yesterday – a dusting of snow in the morning and that’s it. 

Snowy grass

Snowy grass

I may go home early today. They’re predicting another possible 3 inches tonight.  With wind gusts up to 50 mph.  And my awesome 4 wheel drive truck is sitting in my driveway.  Damn!

This snow is odd-looking.  Normally here we get wet, heavy snow.  Or for a few minutes it may come down in those tiny little flakes that look like dandruff.  That’s unusual because when it typically snows here, the temperature is warming up, so when the snow falls, it runs through the very cold, tiny dandruffy flakes and soon becomes the really big, wet stuff.  Not always, but that’s the usual pattern.

This snow looks like little tiny balls – like hail, but not quite.  The temperature is in the upper 20’s, so it is pretty cold.  I know the photos I’ve posted this morning show only a trace of snow, but I’ll update it when the big stuff hits.  Ha, ha, yes, we consider 3″ a lot of snow.  Don’t you wish that was all you got?

Unfortunately, like Seattle, we have a lot of hills. Not as much traffic, but to get from point A to point B, you will have to traverse a hill or two, and that can be just as impossible here as in Seattle, with 3″ of snow. 

Snowy road

Snowy road

I couldn’t find a list of significant snowfall in Bellingham on Feb 22, but Seattle is fairly close by and here is a list of previous February snows: “2001, 1994 (8-10″ in some foothill places), 1990, 1989 (big early Feb. snow and early Mar. snows), 1986, 1985, 1980, 1976, 1972, 1969, 1963, 1962, 1956, 1955, 1951, 1950, 1949, etc. It even snowed 16 inches on Valentines’ Day in 1923. Also 1916 had a Ground Hog’s Day snow of 26.5″! In 1884 there was a foot of snow on February 20 as well. And I guess the 10″ of snow March 1st/2nd, 1989 came a day late.

I’m totally blanking on all these February snows, I don’t remember any of them. I assume this guy knows what he is talking about.  I lived in Seattle for 54 years and it rarely snows there, period.  The reason snow is such a big topic there is all the hills.  You can’t get up or down a hill when there is even a 1/2″ of slippery snow on it. 

Anyway, now I’m stressing, wondering how I’ll get home if we get that 3” or more of snow by quitting time.  Like I said, I may go home early.  I have my boots in the car, I think … . I’m going to go check.  See ya’ll later.

Snow bound hamster report?

