Optimism

Optimism

My blood glucose this morning is at least below 100 – it read 97.  I’ve been really frustrated because I thought I was doing really well watching what I eat, but for a week could not get it to STAY below 100.  Now that I’ve been getting more precise about the caloric and carbohydrate content of my food, and how much I eat and when, maybe I can do better with BG readings. 

The future is not clear

The future is not clear

I have always thought that if a person worked really hard to accomplish something, then they would succeed.  I no longer believe that is true in all things, and yet I thought it would be true for my health.  We’ll see, I guess.

There is health, and there is income:  I worked very hard for over 6 years to get a Mechanical Engineering Bachelor’s degree, and then followed that with 14 years of working overtime for no extra pay and doing my best in my job.  Now I’m dumped on the heap – and whether this is due to my age or the economy, it is impossible to tell.  A combination of both, I suppose. 

Flowers!

Flowers - just because!

So, did I control my fate?  Apparently not.  I’m 60 years old, with no retirement funds,  I am on the brink of getting diabetes type 2. 

Do you ever feel like life just keeps slapping you in the face and saying, “Deal with it!” ? Yeah, yeah, I know others have it much worse.  So what?  I don’t live for 100,000 humans, I am one person. 

Well anyway, I find myself at the bottom of some big hole again, starting over in many ways.  I’m working hard at improving my health, and I will continue to do so.  I’ve also considered several sources of income, as my current job (non-engineering) doesn’t pay much, and I never know how long it will last. 

I considered several courses of action, and settled on sales. I could say that is a really bad idea, as I’ve never been able to sell anything, probably due to my pessimism.  And they say that selling means reaching people’s emotions and getting them to want what you have.  I’ve always been an analytical type, and make my decisions based on what it will cost and what the benefit to me will be. 

However, everyone, including myself, believed that I couldn’t do the math to graduate with a BSME, and yet I did. So, I think I will keep working on this and see how it goes. Check it out – watch Celebrity Apprentice on March 27 at 9:00 pm.  They will be showcasing ACN. We provide reduced cost phone services, TV and internet.  Also, depending on where you live, you can get reduced cost gas and electricity.

You can check out my advisors’ website at:  http://www.hamiltondutcher3.acnrep.com/k_index.asp?flag=1&CO_LA=US_EN

Onward and upward!

the hamster report

