I suspect it all depends on where the snow is.  Is it on the road and you have to get to work in 20 minutes?  Or is it on the trees and the trail, and you have a day to just walk among the snow covered trees?

Trailhead

Trailhead to Pine & Cedar Lakes

The trail

Pristine snow on the trail

I left early, as I like to get on the trail before other people show up.  I’m an early riser anyway, so no problem!  I was on the trail by 8:00 am, and my car was the only one in the parking lot.  It was so peacefull and completely gorgeous on this entire hike. 

My timing was perfect, as the temperature went up during the day. In fact, by the time I returned to the parking lot, it was raining at that elevation.  During my entire hike – 8 am to about 11:30, it was snowing on the trail.  You can see this in some of the photos, the snowflakes appear as big white balls when close to the camera! 

Ok, one more photo – I love these pictures!  I could have stayed all day in the snow, if I had a dry place to sit with a warm fireplace!

View point!

End of the trail view point!

Lake!

Frozen lake!

This trail goes uphill rather steeply for a couple of miles, then levels out for awhile. Then it drops down to the lake, and there is a trail around the lake.  For the view spot, the trail goes uphill for quite aways until it comes to a rock outcropping where you can see for many miles, when it is not snowing!

This was a wonderful day, with about a 4 1/2 mile hike in the snow.  Awesome!

Hamster report

