Ok, no offense to the very real struggles going on in the world and especially no denigration meant to those who have died.  Their struggles are real and I am in awe of their courage and sacrifices.

I once heard a woman  speak about the many years of struggle that she went through in Ireland, where there were many deaths due to bombings and shootings, as the different factions fought for supremacy and sought revenge for deaths caused by the other side in the struggle.

A comment she made made a great impression on me – she said that while the struggle went on for generations, they never forgot how to sing and dance and laugh, and that was what sustained them and kept them human through the generations long struggles.

So, I don’t mean to imply that I am going through anything like the freedom fighters and protesters in Ireland and North Africa, but I have my own struggles, and in America today, it looks very much like we are in a period of decline from which we may never recover, certainly not in my lifetime. 

So, here is one way I keep my spirits up:

Gotcha!

Gotcha!

Squeak & Cleo wrestling

Squeak & Cleo wrestling

The next photo is typical of most of the pictures I get of the cats.  They’ll be doing something that would make a great photo, but by the time the shutter clicks, I get this:

Squeak - do I look like I care

Squeak - do I look like I care

I suspect that what she is thinking right now is: “Ohh, if only a rogue mouse would get loose in here, I could have the greatest time decimating the little creep.”

The hamster is cautious around the kitties.

