Hey, this could have been my target

Hey, this could have been my target

I’m really having fun with my archery practise sessions!  I try to go every Wednesday, but it’s been working out to every other week for a while now – thanks mostly to my ancient car and its numerous trips to the mechanics – coupled with a little incompetence on their part. (NOT my regular mechanic – I haven’t been disappointed by him, ever.)

I now have purchased 12 arrows, instead of just 6. So I can shoot all of them before I have to stop and to retrieve. Anyway, the point is, I was hitting the target with 10 out of 12 arrows, the other 2 would hit close to the paper target, but just outside it. I am still shooting from the 10 yard line, and I can hardly wait until I graduate to the 20 yard line. That will be so cool.

Notice the woman archer!

Notice the woman archer!

Accuracy with a recurve bow is MUCH more difficult than with the compound bows. It requires more strength and skill, as the compound bow is almost like shooting a rifle – the arrows have no arc to their path and fly with so much more force. The compound bows also have sights that are more like shooting a bullets than shooting arrows.

I guess that’s why I like my recurve bow better. It is more natural and requires more strength and skill to hit the target. Anyway, I’m having fun and getting more accurate each time! 

Recurve bows are just cool

Recurve bows are just cool

So there you go.

hamster dreamin’

