My dad used to say (way too often) that “Old age and treachery wins out over youth and beauty every time.”

Hey, we can run too!
Hey, we can run too!

So . . . last Sunday I did my first run around our local lake twice. I decided the previous Sunday that 35 minutes for 1 run around the lake wasn’t enough exercise. I wanted it to be at least an hour.

So this took 1 hour and 10 minutes which kind of suprised me, since I knew that my “jogging” around the first time took 35 minutes and that was a lot for me, that the second time around I would be walking more than running. This seemed to be the case, but still, when I checked my watch it worked out to be the same time as my first go around.

Not Lake Padden

Not Lake Padden

I felt kind of bad about that, since it implied that I ran about the same speed as I walk. I really hope that isn’t true – maybe it means I ran more than I thought I did on the second time around. Yes, I think I’ll go with that interpretation.

It didn’t rain on me which was nice, and as usual, there was no wind at 8:00 am. The lake surface was like glass. I wished I had my camera on the run – the reflections looked so much like the real things it was uncanny.

I seem to keep selecting activities that have hazards that I did not know about until later . . . I just read an article from 2008 that a couger had been sighted at Lake Padden. As far as I know, no one has been attacked . . . but I bet an older, slower runner would be just the ticket for a cougar lunch.

Hamster report

