Fishing boats

Fishing boats

This blog is really what I thought it would be – a free-association mental exercise. When I started it, I tried to think of ONE subject area that I could write about day after day, and could not think of one. I have many interests and at my age, I am trying to do everything I can afford to do that I have always wanted to do but put off because I had responsibilities that took precedence, or so I thought.

In retrospect I think I could have done a lot of things and still managed my responsibilities, not when I was a single mom with young boys, but that took up about 15 of my 25 adult years. Sigh . . .

So, I’m taking a fly fishing class this coming Saturday. That will be fun. I’ve been looking up hikes that go to lakes for my summer backpack trips. I’m really getting into this. 

So, why the fishing fleet photo? I took my 87 year old mom out on Sunday, and we usually go to the harbor to look out over the water. It’s pretty, and mom can see a great view without having to get out of the car and walk, which she often does not feel up to.

This time I thought I’d bring my little camera and snap a few. I’ve always enjoyed seeing boats – must have been imprinted by having a dad who designed and built boats, even though we didn’t have one! What was up with that dad? 

Here’s the local seagulls keeping a watch, and simultaneously “painting” any cars below with their personal white “paint”.

Seagulls on alert

Seagulls on alert

The hamster keeps busy

