Road kill - mouse?

Road kill - mouse?

I think we all need a blog that posts a weekly road kill report. I’ve looked everywhere and I just can’t find such a thing. So, being the cutting-edge type that I am, I will be the first.

Thank you, thank you, just knowing the gratitude that flows from my reader is satisfaction enough.

This week, the roadkill count is as follows:

  • Squirrels – 3
  • Deer – 1
  • Opossums – 2
  • Rabbit – 1
  • Unidentified – 2

Just for your amusement and edification, I have been compiling articles on the topic of road kill. The Burke Museum in Seattle, Washington collects road kill from community minded volunteers who bring the carcases in and the museum has a chest full of flesh eating bugs that clean the skeletons for them, which then go on display in the mammals section of the museum.

Just thought you’d like to know. I wonder how they pick up the critters? They can be pretty messy, and some are kind of large, like the unfortunate 40 lb beavers.

Sigh, I want you to know, I take no pleasure in my reporting – I like animals, and somehow, being splattered from here to kingdom come by a 2,000 lb hunk of steel and plastic screaming along at 60 mph does not appeal to me as a great way to pass on to the next life. Watch your driving out there, ok?

Hamster Friday report

