No, really, it’d be fun, right! Well, maybe someday . . . So, yesterday I got myself off to the archery place. I spent about 45 minutes practising with my neat little 25# recurve bow, hitting almost every arrow in the paper target!  I’m still shooting at 10 yards, I figure I need lots more practise before I try the 20 yard distance, or the apple off your head thing. 

Woman archer, not me unfortunately

Woman archer, look at that posture!

I found this excellent article on shooting recurve bows – its called “What Beginners Do Wrong, and How to do it right.”  I’ve been inconsistent with my shooting. I can tell that after a half hour of shooting my aim gets worse – that is obviously tired muscles causing my aim to wobble. I’ll be practising the suggestions in this article next week. I really hate it when I feel the string hit my arm, which doesn’t happen very often, but seems potentially fraught with pain if it hits too directly. I copied the article section on this topic below:

The string hits your arm

“It may seem obvious, but I recently watched someone shoot half an Albion, wondering why all his arrows fell short, until it finally dawned on him that the string was catching on his shoulder. (If you habitually shoot in a heavy jumper, now might be the time to move to t-shirts.)

“The solution? Wear a light top, preferably not too loose-fitting. A chest guard (roughly a tenner from your friendly archery suppliers) will also help hold your clothes in check. Rolling up an awkward t-shirt sleeve can be useful.

“A related (but infinitely more painful) problem can occur if you have a nobbly elbow that sticks out into the path of the string. Many are the hideous bruises I have taken home from a shooting session. But this need never happen! This problem is caused by locking the left arm, in the belief that this will (a) hold the bow steadier or (b) get a longer draw. Actually, (b) is true enough, but any benefit is thoroughly outweighed by the disadvantage of the string hitting the elbow.

“The solution? Relax the left arm a bit and rotate the elbow slightly clockwise, so it sticks out to the left a bit. You’ll probably find that it’s harder to stay at full draw in this position, but your muscles will soon adapt to the increased strain.

There is a lot to learn. I watched the compound bow users while I was there, and it seemed to me that there is very little to learn with those devices. They are so accurate and so technical that it seemed very hard to actually miss your target.

I prefer the recurve bow.

The Hamster is out.

