My dad used to do that annoying thing with his fingers and say “Can you hear that? It’s the sound of the world’s tiniest violin. Life is not fair, get over it.”

That fact has been ground into me from day one. What I have learned over the years is that people who are born rich or good-looking or talented in some way use that excuse “Life is not fair” to look down on those who were not born with their advantages and tell them that they just have to work harder. Like they did? Excuse me?

My point is, there are people who can go out in extreme conditions and enjoy themselves, when I have white, numb fingers when I am INSIDE my car and the temperature is 65.   The water in Puget Sound is around 44 degrees (F) all year round. At that temperature, hypothermia sets in in about 15 minutes. After that if no one rescues you, you are a goner.

Yesterday, when the outdoor temperature was about 50 and the wind was about 15 mph, this is what I saw people doing at the beach in Bellingham:

Kayaker carrying

Yes - kayaking

Sailboarder

Really, it's too cold for this

The next day I rode my bike 34 miles round trip from my house to the auto repair shop. The license plates and tabs for my car were expiring the next day. It rained for a couple of hours during this ride and it was windy. I was dressed for the weather, but my hands got cold as usual and some of my fingers went numb. 

Would I go windsurfing in this kind of weather? No, no, no, a thousand times no. Kayaking, maybe. Why can these guys stay warm and comforable in these conditions and I cannot?

Because life is not fair.

whimpering hamster.

