Blue sky and clouds in Bellingham
Blue sky and clouds in Bellingham

Cloudy
The sky is gray and white and cloudy,
Sometimes I think it’s hanging down on me.
And it’s a hitchhike a hundred miles.
I’m a rag-a-muffin child.
Pointed finger-painted smile.
I left my shadow waiting down the road for me a while.

Cloudy
My thoughts are scattered and they’re cloudy,
They have no borders, no boundaries.
They echo and they swell
From Tolstoy to Tinker Bell.
Down from Berkeley to Carmel.
Got some pictures in my pocket and a lot of time to kill.

Hey sunshine
I haven’t seen you in a long time.
Why don’t you show your face and bend my mind?
These clouds stick to the sky
Like floating questions, why?
And they linger there to die.
They don’t know where they are going, and, my friend, neither do I.

More lyrics: http://www.lyricsfreak.com/

I guess copying a poem into a blog is a big deal for the program to handle. I couldn’t get it to let me use “paragraph” formatting above the song lyrics, so I’m typing my comments down here. I love Simon and Garfunkel songs – I was sorry when I heard they didn’t really like each other. I guess they hated each others guts. Their lyrics were beautiful poetry and their singing was perfection.

The question – “do you see blue sky or do you see clouds” is sort of like “is the glass half full or half empty” question. I always say its half empty, dumbass, but that’s when I’m talking about something to drink. When I look at the sky, I say there is a lot of blue up there. Depends on where you’r coming from I guess.

I see that as I get older I’m getting crankier. I may have always felt irritable, but I did my best to hide it, because that is what I was told I should do. Be polite, smile, say positive things. Hah. One of the benefits of getting older is, I can say what I want, and I don’t care what people think.

One more beautiful sky photo:

A pretty spring sky in Bellingham
A pretty spring sky in Bellingham

Look for the good, but know the truth.

Hamster time.

