So I’m kinda running low on ideas to blog about that won’t get me arrested or tested for psychological issues. So I’m going to show you what I’ve been doing to my house – improvements, that is.

Basement laundry room
Basement laundry room

I started with my laundry room last year. Have you ever moved into a place and just hated the color scheme?  I love this house, but the color scheme was one step above the guy in Rainier Valley in Seattle who painted his house brilliant lavender and purple.

I won’t go into the details, but I am gradually painting the insides as I have the energy, money and time. I found a great place to get the paint cheap so that helps a lot. Anywhooo . . . the color in the laundry room doesn’t show correctly in the photograph. It is a pale pink. I am definitely NOT a fan of pink, but I thought this can of paint was a warm beige color. Have I mentioned that I suck at picking colors of paint? Kind of like picking a movie . . .

However, I soldiered on, in spite of the faint pink color in this room. I just pretend that I like pink. Lots of women do, so who would know?  The room does look 100% better, so I’m ok with it. Besides, how much time do I spend in my laundry room?  Only as much as necessary.

Basement fireplace wall

Basement fireplace wall

So in the main basement room I’ve been painting the lower half-wall. It looks SO much better. When I bought this house, the shelf on top of the half-wall was painted flat black, and the boards were not fastened down. So when you put anything on this little shelf it would wobble, and there were cracks all along the bottom of it where the gyp wallboard meets the shelf. So I attached trim to cover the uneven gyp board and used lots of spackle to fill in cracks and gaps.

Then I painted it, also with some paint I grossly miss-judged the color. I foolishly read the label and thought that was the color of the paint. Ha! Did I mention that I get my paint at the Re-store? Someone buys the paint, has the color mixed and when they have left-overs, they give it to this store. So you have to look at the little swatch of paint on the can, NOT the words on the label.

Basement corner

Basement corner

Ok, so pay attention to the windows here. The wood around the windows was still a dark brown, and in need of paint anyway. So I sanded around each window and spackled freely, then painted the window wells white. It looks SO much better. Brighter!

Basement catsBasement cats

Thats all folks!

Hamster report 

