So, the count for the past week is:

  • Opossum – 1
  • Raccoon – 1
  • Unidentified – 3
  • Squirrel – 1

I’m happy to say I had several very nice live animal sightings; just this morning there were 2 deer browsing in the area around the office when I came in. On Wednesday I saw an awesome hawk sitting in a tree by the road. He was big! I don’t know hawk species, but he was smaller than an eagle and larger than most of the hawks I’ve seen around here. He was so close and so big I was startled when I spotted him out of the corner of my eye as I whizzed by at 25 mph – it was a back road.

Here’s an article about things you can do with road kill, from East Bay Express.  You can make torches out of the fat from a dead raccoon, and you can eat for weeks off a dead deer.  Yumm!

I think I’ll wait until I’m a little hungrier, thanks.

Here’s someone who knows what to do with road kill. Thank him – he’s cleaning up after us.

On a lighter note, this guy looks a lot like the hawk I saw guarding the road last Wednesday. Handsome dude (dudette?), yes?

Cautious hamster report

